AC Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

red423

Reaction score
Ok I know thi shas been asked 10k times my AC just doesn't seem to be right. I just changed the fan clutch, and still have 45 psi on the low side at ilde I have a 97 degree ambient with a temp of 71 at the center air outlets, when I rev the truck up to say 1800 rpm the low side pressure will go down to below 30 lbs and slowly come back. What the heck am I missing??? Driving down the highway it will cool but not freeze your ass out. I see guys on here getting 50 55 degrees discharge temps, wifes Pilot, is blowing cold as the day we got it, I just sold a 96 bronco that would make ice, I live in Miami, and going to a garage is a limited option, I have no idea who to trust down here. I could really use
some advice. I thought it may be a bad cabin filter, or a blocked evap, (air flow) how does one get to it to check????

stamp11127

Full Access Members
Reaction score
First thing to check is the blend door. Make sure it isn't leaking some hot air into the system. Next would be the static pressure and ambient temp when checking along with the high side pressure when running. The low side is getting close to the lower limit if it is dropping under 30. This will cut out the compressor until the pressure builds back up.
Without knowing the static and high side pressure I would venture your problem is low refrigerant or a partially blocked accumulator.

OP
OP
R

red423

Reaction score
wish i was up near you............

I was flipping the can of 134 around and noticed a charging chart, saw where they recommend 45-55 low side at 95 ambient. Now I got a 25degree spread but still warming at idle. any ideas gauges are now busted will have to get a set tomm. boy I wish I had that bronco ac system back.

stamp11127

Full Access Members
Reaction score