Adding functions to driver info display

Discussion in '3rd Gen - 2007 - 2017' started by Dutchie, Feb 8, 2018.


  1. Dutchie

    Dutchie Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Hi all,

    New member here with a 2017 Expedition XLT.

    The first question that I'd like to ask is about the driver information display in the instrument cluster. The version that is on my truck is located between the tach and speedo (single screen) and I wanted to see if it is possible to add functions to this display. Turn DLR on/off, tire pressures, boost etc. are some of the options I'd like to add.

    Much appreciated.

    Dutch.
     
  2. Muddy Bean

    Muddy Bean Full Access Members

    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Location:
    Michigan
    Dutch, do some searching on the forum. All of the answers to your questions are literally right here before you. Specifically find the “forscan” thread and spend time reading it. You won’t have any questions left to answer if you read that entire thread.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    shanep99 likes this.
  3. Dutchie

    Dutchie Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Cool. Thanks. I should have done that to begin with.
     
    Muddy Bean likes this.
  4. HavasuMike

    HavasuMike Member

    Age:
    73
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, AZ
    Hate to sound stupid, but what is "forscan"?
     
  5. HockeyPuck99

    HockeyPuck99 Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    HavasuMike, check out this link: http://www.forscan.org/

    Basically it is a free program that you can download to your computer, which allows you to do a number of things that aren't available through the built in user interface in your car. Below are the main features from the website.

    Main features
    • Detect vehicle on-board network configuration
    • Reading of modules' sensors' data
    • Run test diagnostic procedures (not supported in FORScan Lite yet)
    • Run service procedures (not supported in FORScan Lite yet)
     
  6. Adieu

    Adieu Full Access Members

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    229
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Location:
    SoCal
    Program for coding things with a cable and laptop to avoid paying stealership $100 a pop or so for switching hidden options
     
    iimagine likes this.
  7. Dutchie

    Dutchie Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    I’m definitely getting that setup and peak around to see what we can play with. Always remember to do a backup of your existing settings prior to changing anything.
     
  8. Muddy Bean

    Muddy Bean Full Access Members

    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Location:
    Michigan
    Mike, not stupid at all. I’m actually new on this forum and had no idea either. But I do believe the ForScan thread is now a sticky or a pinned thread now..on my Tapatalk app, it’s literally at the very top of my threads list all the time now. Which I like because I can constantly refer to it and see if anyone has discovered any new tweaks.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. chuck s

    chuck s Full Access Members

    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    102
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location:
    Chesterfield, VA (that's south of Richmond, y'all)
    Not sure what changes you can make to your Type 1 display as I have the Type 2 with the information screen to the far left and a big speedo in the center. I lose the tach display there when I display other data, pretty sure the tach is always present on the Type 1.

    Ya need the Forscan software and advanced license (free download from them) and an interface between your PC laptop and the OBD2 port under the dash. Mine is wired and was ~$25 on Amazon.

    Tread lightly with any changes and make backups of the truck's data.

    -- Chuck
     
    iimagine likes this.
  10. HavasuMike

    HavasuMike Member

    Age:
    73
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, AZ
    I think I need one of them. The first time I saw my display, all it had was the speed. I thought "what a waste". I hope I can change that now.
     

Share This Page