aftermarket radio in 2008 EB

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Big Brian, May 11, 2017.

  1. Big Brian

    Big Brian Full Access Members

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Farmington Hills Mi
    Last time I put in a radio it had push button tuning and had a FM radio adapter.

    I am thinking about installing this but am a little leery of the whole thing.

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VQ8RJTA?tag=viglink23361-20&th=1

    Not that I don't have the skill or tools to do it, its just kind of confusing with all the different adapters/functions they have now.

    I am pretty sure I have the Premium sound system. I assume this means I have a separate amp and sub woofers? According to the Ford ETIS report I ran, it says Premium sound. I just bought the vehicle a few months ago.

    In my shopping cart I have this for the installation

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000I4VT1C/ref=ox_sc_act_title_4?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004HKBY8G/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0007WTF34/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

    is this correct? I also see this in the reviews, do I need instead of the Metra harness connector? I would like to keep all functionality I have

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0015ASMIQ/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=AF8CJ05KGZIBN

    I would appreciate advice from anyone with experience with this kind of installation and recommendations if my accessories are not what I need. I am not sure I am going to go through with this but the radio seems pretty solid from the reviews and the price is good for my budget.

    thanks
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2017
  2. Big Brian

    Big Brian Full Access Members

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Farmington Hills Mi
  3. Password

    Password Member

    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    You're going to need the double DIN kit, not single DIN.
     
  4. Big Brian

    Big Brian Full Access Members

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Farmington Hills Mi
    thanks! I thought that is what I had chosen. Hmmm I don't see that one on Amazon?
     
  5. rexster314

    rexster314 Full Access Members

    Posts:
    338
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    Texas gulf coast
    Before you purchase this one, look at any of the units that can use Android Auto or Apple Car Play. You'll thank me later
     
  6. Big Brian

    Big Brian Full Access Members

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Farmington Hills Mi
    why?​
     
  7. Big Brian

    Big Brian Full Access Members

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Farmington Hills Mi
    ok I read up on Android auto its nice but the units that have it are way out of my price range

    still interested in answers to my original question.

    thanks
     
  8. Big Brian

    Big Brian Full Access Members

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    134
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Location:
    Farmington Hills Mi
    well I found my answers

    If anyone is curious about this all the information is there on the Crutchfield website.

    thanks
     

Share This Page