Register to remove these ads

Brown Wire Mod

Discussion in 'Transmission & Drive train' started by mgtsldr38, May 16, 2008.

  1. ET2 Burris

    ET2 Burris Member

    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, North Carolina
    Gone are the days of unlocking the from axle, they are...

    This is my first Big suv, my toyotas had Downey off road to help them.
    I purchased some Warn Man Hubs. have you guys looked for this?

    I haven't read the thing on cutting a wire. But the hardware is whats getting you.
    If its like the rest of the world it just engages the front drive shaft. "that you are turning the whole time not to metion the diff.
     
  2. nvycrmn

    nvycrmn Full Access Members

    Posts:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Springville, IA
    can you post pics of which harness you cut from? and just so i get this correct, you technically still have A4WD cuz the front tires are still spinning correct?
     
  3. panda24619

    panda24619 Full Access Members

    Posts:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    well i think the awd is electronic on these transfer case. duh! but i think if it detects wheels slip and the wires cut then it wont send power to the front. idk for sure. im just glad i dont have to deal with what you guy are doing.
     
  4. ronjeremy6

    ronjeremy6 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    North Alabama
    slo-ryd, is all still well with this mod? i fried my transfer case last month because i bought two tires instead of four. yes, i'm a moron. lesson learned.

    1600 bucks later (tires and transfer case rebuild) the rig is running tip top. BUT, i don't want to worry about this happening again. is the wire viewable from under the truck?

    thanks in advance.
     
  5. markanthony

    markanthony Full Access Members

    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Bountiful
    Umm. Unless u have a solid locker (non electric,ARB, etc) If you put on a smaller/bigger tire then the rest. The axle will absorb (even with a LSD or LS) a short drive with a smaller tire (I would think no more then 100 miles) with out any damage.

    All it would do is run the smaller tire faster then the bigger tire. The spider gears in the open diff would spin off the extra spin. The LS or LSD should slip off the extra spin. If the LSD or LS is (frozen) solid with no movement. It would kill tires faster. If you run the two different tire for a long time. It would kill Diff's, t case, tranny. But I think this would be an extreme case. This would also be why u can run one rear tire at say 25psi and the other one at 45 psi for miles. yes the tire with lower psi would have a funny pattern on it.

    I think that putting hubs on the front axle would not really be a Benefit. The t case would still pull the drive line, diff, gears, and axle shafts. All front hubs would do it unlock the power to the wheel and the front u joint. Not disconnected the t case.

    On the t case. It has a magnetic unit. It will still "pull" the front tires while off the ground. But with the weight of the truck. their would be no torque to pull the truck.. So yes. killing power would kill the A4wd and still maintain the 4H/L.
     
  6. 99 Expy

    99 Expy Full Access Members

    Posts:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    Laramie, WY
    If you were to be able to install hubs on the front, wouldn't that disconnect the 4x4? If the transfer case is what engages when Auto 4x4 is activated, the axle would still spin, but not the tires. Is there a way to install manual hubs on these? I don't like that the front drive train is spinning when not in use due to all of the unnecessary wear on the parts. Anyway, I have a wiring problem so my Auto 4x4 doesn't engage, but 4 hi and lo both work.
     
  7. Bart Man

    Bart Man Full Access Members

    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Brown Wire AWD to Two Wheel Drive!!

    Well I spent more time reading these post than it took to the job! I just cut the Brown Wire on the transfer case and tried it out in the snow! It works GREAT! 4 HI an 4 LO works great also!, I now have 2 wheel drive! I may hook up a toggle switch in the cab for AWD:cool:
     
  8. panda24619

    panda24619 Full Access Members

    Posts:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    at least someone tryed this! now maybe others will too! i dont have to worry about this but hope it works for you guys that do do it. a switch would be good too.
     
  9. Bart Man

    Bart Man Full Access Members

    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    It doesn't get any easier thanks again!!!
     
  10. schmeg

    schmeg Member

    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Bangor Maine
    Brown Wire

    Sounds like I'll be doing mine this spring. Along with synthetic gear oil in all three cases.
     

Share This Page