Help needed with massive battery drain 2007 expedition

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

skinnedknuckles

Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here. just bought a 2007 limited el and it's been great for about 2 months, then all of a sudden, battery goes dead. Did some research and began testing to find there is about a 9 amp draw when there should be just milliamps. I've found that by pulling fuses #5 has about a 6 amp draw and fuse #3 about 1 amp. There is still another 2 amps that are still draining regardless of fuses pulled. Also, relay #55 under the hood makes some strange clicky sounds, but does not alter current draw if I remove it. This has really got me puzzled and don't know where to start. Do I need to take to dealer? The #3 is marked FES, I don't even know what that means. The #5 is very important and I can't drive without it as this fuse controls the shifter and won't go into gear unless it is enabled. The #5 fuse is for; Keypad illumination, 3rd row seat enable,Brake Shift Interlock (BSI). SPDJB, TPMS initiators. I can jump start the car and it runs great and all functions seem to work perfectly, except massive battery drain. When shut off, battery will drain very quickly. Any help at all would be so greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Adieu

Full Access Members
Reaction score
~100w then (9 amps by 12 volts)...thats like a laptop or a couple TVs running

Process of elimination, possible candidates by power consumption:

1) somehow shorted HID ballasts or LED drivers for a pair of lights, headlight or foglight (typically these systems are rated 30 to 60 watts per side)

2) amplifier from sound system stuck on?

3) HVAC system

4) maybe just maybe all the processing power of a touchscreen navi & multimedia unit frozen up in its shutdown sequence with all bluetooths etc blazing locked in an attempt to connect to something