New Member from Northern Idaho

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Firekatt

Reaction score
Hi everyone!!

I'm totally new to the Expeditions and just purchased my first used one. Picked up a '97 XLT 4X4 for $500 bucks. Going to be posting some questions as there are issues...especially at that price....but shouldn't be something I can't figure out with a little help. I am good at working on cars and trucks and very mechanically inclined. Everything from tune-ups to compete engine rebuilds.

Basically it has a weird overheating issue but I haven't started to work on figuring it out yet

Looking forward to getting to know some of you :)

Last edited:

Habbibie

Is it Christmas yet?
Reaction score
Well welcome to the site, will this expedition be your primary mode of transportation or do you daily drive something else?

OP
OP
F

Firekatt

Reaction score
Once it is fixed, it'll be my daily driver. For now, I'm driving my wife's 91 explorer. I'll start troubleshooting the overheating issue tomorrow. It's weird, but it overheats only when driving...it can sit at idle forever and not do it. No water in the oil and nothing out the exhaust so I'm thinking something other than a head gasket for now. Maybe a flow problem, thermostat or clogged radiator. It does seem to have a miss while running but no codes set indicating a misfire. That's all I know so far.

Habbibie

Is it Christmas yet?
Reaction score