Power windows won't work

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

joeytforrest

Reaction score
I have an 08 Expedition KR with 115k miles. All power window switches would quit at the same time. I would replace the 30A fuse in the cabin fuse box which would seem to stop the problem. Although replacing the fuse would "seemingly" allow the window switches to work, the fuse didn't look blown and multimeter has confirmed there is continuity.

Now windows won't work and fuse is good. I'm a novice with the multimeter but checked continuity and voltage in the fuse box under the hood and in the cabin. All looks good except for 30A power window fuse in cabin. Fuse is good (tried many) but looks like no voltage coming to the fuse. Thought about bypassing any relay directly to fuse but wasn't comfortable with that yet.

Could this be a relay (cannot find/dnk which relay controls windows)? Any suggestions?

Many thanks in advace for the assistance.

Last edited:

stamp11127

Full Access Members
Reaction score
According to the owners manual there is a circuit breaker for the power windows not a fuse.

Fuse #47

Are you sure that you have the correct fuse?

See attached.

Since you have a meter, use voltage to check when power is applied to a circuit and use continuity when a component is removed and unpowered from a circuit.

If there is a fuse in place of a cb, check for power on both sides of the fuse at the test points with the ignition in run and let us know. Wiggle the fuse while testing if you don't have power.

Attachments

• Expy 08 pg 306.pdf
    84.7 KB · Views: 44
  • Expy 08 pg 304.pdf
    66.6 KB · Views: 40
Last edited:
OP
OP
J

joeytforrest

Reaction score