Towing 27' Power Boat With 2018 Expy?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

John151

Reaction score
Hello, new to the forum, and new to Expeditions.

I am considering purchasing a 2018 Expy with HD tow package to drag my 27' boat around. The boat and trailer weigh 8,500 to 9,000 lbs. Trailer is tandem axle with disc/surge brakes on all 4 wheels.

Looking to tow mostly in the upper Midwest (level ground) and for distances of 50 to 250 miles (no cross country trips).

I have some towing experience, but not a lot (I tow a few times a year max, typically short distances, easy conditions), and mostly with smaller boats (18' - 22') and small cargo trailers. I have never pulled such a large or heavy trailer, so looking for input on if the Expedition would be a good choice, as well as set ups, concerns, options,etc.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

John Christopher

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Hello, new to the forum, and new to Expeditions.

I am considering purchasing a 2018 Expy with HD tow package to drag my 27' boat around. The boat and trailer weigh 8,500 to 9,000 lbs. Trailer is tandem axle with disc/surge brakes on all 4 wheels.

Looking to tow mostly in the upper Midwest (level ground) and for distances of 50 to 250 miles (no cross country trips).

I have some towing experience, but not a lot (I tow a few times a year max, typically short distances, easy conditions), and mostly with smaller boats (18' - 22') and small cargo trailers. I have never pulled such a large or heavy trailer, so looking for input on if the Expedition would be a good choice, as well as set ups, concerns, options,etc.

Thanks in advance!