‘08 Bad bump steer after lift

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

briandye

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I’m new to the lifted vehicle world. I just lifted my 2008 and installed bigger tires yesterday. (I’ve driven lifted stuff before, but never lifted anything of mine)

The stock 20” Limited wheels and the stock tire size had no abnormal characteristics that bothered me. This thing actually rode like a pillow for being huge and having 160k miles.

I did the 3/2” level/lift kit or whatever the size is, and installed 35x11.50r20 Nitto Terra Grappler G2 tires. When the shop installed the tires, I also had them inspect everything while they were down there, as well as a 4 wheel alignment of course.

The thing travels straight down the road to a T. I could let go for a mile and still be straight.

It obvisouly rides pretty stiff now, but nothing I didn’t expect after lifting it and changing the geometry of the suspension. (I love all the companies “Does not affect ride quality!” claims)

My issue, however, is bump steer. Any bumps, potholes, manhole covers, etc make my steering wheel turn in either direction. It’s not that it’s hard to control, or I feel like I’m gonna veer into traffic or anything, but it’s just really bothersome.

I’ve driven a handful of friends lifted trucks before and they never had any bump steer. (I hope that’s the right term I’m using?) They ranged from 16” wheels and 40” tires, to 22” wheels and 35-38” mid tires, so both extremes really.

The shop said everything under the truck looked great, and the alignment is spot on like I mentioned above.

What could cause this after the lift? Is there anything I can do to get rid of it or minimize it aside from returning to stock height?

Trainmaster

Old School Member
Reaction score