03 5.4L (2 valve) head gasket replacement - Disassembly questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Eric M

Reaction score
I've decided to try to give myself as much space as possible to do the head gasket job, which means I am now trying (not super successfully) to try to remove the front grill and bumper. Headlight assemblies are out. The clips on the grill seem like a nightmare to try to remove without ruining them, which is why I'd like to leave them in place. Actually, after having a look at the whole grill and bumper assembly, I'd like to remove the whole thing in one piece. Is doesn't seem like a terrible idea, but then again, I have never done this before. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Also, there are two brackets under the front bumper that fasten it to the frame (see photos). They are held on by plastic fasteners (see the plastic disc sitting flush on the bracket in the photo) that don't seem to want to come out without being destpyrd in the process. Do I just pry these things out, break them, and just replace with new ones when reassembling? Thanks!

bumper bracket 2.jpgwould be appreciated.

Retiredusps

Full Access Members
Reaction score
pry out with claw hammer , crows foot, or what you have , replace if they break, not a big cost item.why hold up your work over such a small item, trying to save. clips and fastners has a good stock of products, no i have no interest in the company, but just passing along a source of items.

Last edited:

Hamfisted

Full Access Members
Reaction score