2000 XLT 5.4 Heating troubleshoot

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

door54

Reaction score
Front heater core gave out after 22 years and I got after replacing it once I studied enough UTube videos to find common denominators about the teardown process. It was a bit of a beast to say the least. I was not rushed nor did I try to expeditie the job. Some things just take time if its your first rodeo. After reassembly and only several screws left over the result was mixed. The rear/auxillary heater works well. All dials work as they should. The front however did not blow hot..only cold. The command switch for floor vent/dash or defrost works as it should..just not hot.
Until one day a few days later ..hot air began flowing out of the front. I had left the temp control dial to full warm. and was stoked when it finally kicked in. It stayed good for a few days when I thought it best to dial over to cold air to see how it would respond when turned back to hot. It did not respond back to hot air. Just blows cold now. The rear is still performing as it should...hot or cold on command
Looking for ideas friends...your thought would be appreciated.
Thanks

Zharmad

Reaction score
Based on the intermittent heat, it's likely that you either are low on coolant or still have air in the coolant system that's getting trapped in the front heater core.