2001 Expedition 5.4 Head Gaskets

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

FordExpFan

Reaction score
Hello All

I am Brand new to this Fourm. I've got the expedition XLT 2 wheel drive. I love this thing I'm the 1ST owner. The engine 5.4L 2 valve has 256K. It's in great Shape but needs Head gaskets.
Please help me decide what to do With this many miles on it.

1. Should I leave Engine in the SUV Tear it down And replace the head gaskets?
2. Remove the engine from the SUV And then Replace the head gaskets?
3. Find a used 5.4L Engine with Low Miles on it and Change it out?
4. Spend $3K On a Rebuilt engine?

I will do this work myself. But I'm not sure I wanna spend 3K Car this old.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Trainmaster

Old School Member
Reaction score
I had the same choice to make with mine. The answer depends on your financial situation. Aside from that, it would depend on the general condition of the truck. I had New York rust, so the decision was simple. I got a newer truck.

Hamfisted

Full Access Members
Reaction score
If you have another vehicle to drive I'd do the work myself, and have the heads rebuilt while they were off too. Good time for new timing chains, guides and oil pump too, since the chains have to come off anyway. After you clear all the hoses and wiring harnesses out of the way it's not too bad a job. Then you'll have a good vehicle running like new again and good for many years. Even if you sell it, the new owner can have confidence in the vehicle.

The Fel-Pro 9790 head gasket set comes with every gasket you'll need. Fel-Pro HS9790-PT15 Head Gasket Set at Rock Auto

Get a power steering pump pulley puller to remove the power steering pulley. The Lisle 39000 is the best, but the cheap ones from Harbor Freight will work too.

Melling Timing Set at Rock Auto

Last edited:

Samuel Jewell