2004 Expedition Nightmare Won't Start Unless Jumped Off

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MrGoodwrench

Reaction score
I’m a former GM Tech, and I need help! My wife has a 2004 Eddie Bauer Expedition with the 5.4L, 4x4, every option, 140,000 miles. We’ve had the car for about 2 years. Everything was fine until one day, it developed a dead miss. I pulled the codes and had a Cylinder 5 misfire. Replaced the coil, no change. Replaced the injector, then it would crank, but wouldn’t start! So I put the old coil and injector back in #5, and it still won’t start! Tried until the battery started to sound weak, with no luck. So I put a battery charger on it, and it fired right up! Drove it down the road and it drove fine all the way to town and running errands (I left it running when I went into the store). Drove for about 30 mins with no problem. On my way home, I was driving down the road and the security light on the dash started flashing and the engine lost power and started misfiring like crazy. Pulled to the side of the road and the engine honestly sounded like a diesel, as the security light on the dash kept coming on and going off in no particular pattern. Then, all of a sudden, the security light goes off and the engine returned to a normal idle. Got back to the shop and shut the car off. Now, it will turn over, but won’t start, and as it’s turning over, the starter relay in the passenger floorboard fuse box clicks on and off rapidly the entire time the engine is turning over. When you’re under the hood as somebody tries to crank it, there almost sounds like there is a rotational “click”, like something is shorting in the alternator every time it passes a certain point in its rotation. I pulled the belt and tried to start it with the alternator wires connected, AND again with them disconnected, but nothing changed. Also, sometime