$3,300 for a TPS

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bobmbx

Full Access Members
Reaction score
My local stealership just called with an estimate for a failed TPS. They said "$3,300....it needs a new throttlebody, a catalytic converter, and O2 sensors".

With blood boiling...(I'm not a novice at all with auto repair) I said..'so you're telling me that the vehicle was running just fine, no performance issues, no CEL, and then the wrench lite comes on, and all of those parts have suddenly failed at the same time?"

No answer.

I told them to get me an estimate for the TPS only. They still haven't called back. I could do it myself, I just didn't want to. I'm probably going to get it home and do it anyway.

Back story: Wife was 80 miles from home, the vehicle went into limp mode so I had it towed to the dealer at home. Its cold, windy and I just didn't feel like doing it. Its a 2008 Mountaineer, not an Expy.

The TPS is about $50-$60.

Scumbags.

JExpedition07

That One Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
LOL, sometimes you have to laugh at these stealerships and their stupidity. The fact they would even say that is somewhat amusing. They think everyone they work for doesn't know how to turn a wrench. What vehicle was this nonsense for? Ah just saw the 08 mountaineer, yep you summed it up. I think you are better off finding a good shop, my shop can service my ford better than ford can I'd bet. I fix mine myself for the most part and but occasionally use the shop as well. I use Motorcraft parts and supply the Shop with said parts of I want a certain part to be used and they are normally good about it. You have to watch these dealers with a close eye just like any mechanic.

Last edited:
OP
OP
B

bobmbx

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Its a 2008 Merc Mountaineer Premier 4.6L V8, ~130k on the clock.

bloodhound