6R80 Transmission Groan/Buzz

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ads245

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Just curious to see if anyone else has encountered this issue. I have a 2015 two wheel drive Expedition. I'm a relaxed driver so I accelerate slowly as opposed to racing from light to light. I've come to notice that when accelerating lightly (especially on hills or rolling onto the gas pedal) in higher gears, there's a distinct groan accompanied by a rattling/vibration.

Most notably, it can be heard just after the transmission shifts from third to fourth with rpm below 2000 if I'm casually accelerating. In this state, the gearing is tall, rpm is low and thus the transmission is subjected to greater torsional stress. If I'm accelerating quickly it doesn't occur due to the higher rpm before shifts which lowers the torsional stress through the transmission).

This sounds exactly like the TSB 14-0134 pertinent to 2013-2014 F150s where the valve body separator plate actually had passages too small that under certain conditions would cause the transmission fluid to cavitate resulting in the groan and vibration.

I have the 3.15 rear end, so in a low rpm and higher gear, there's even more stress on the transmission as opposed to the expeditions with the 3.73 rear end. So perhaps due to this, the groan and vibration isn't seen in expeditions with the the 3.73s because the operating condition that results in the vibration and groan (even if the valve body separator plates were the same) is never reached. However that is just speculation on my part.