Android auto problem

Timmaaay4

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2015
Posts
15
Reaction score
6
Apparently today while my wife was on a trip Android Auto and the radio stopped working. The only volume that would work on the car was the voice prompt for volumes. She pulled over turned off the car and started it again and the radio started to work as normal however The USB ports in the front are not powered any longer. Any one else have anything off with the head unit

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
 

Anthony DeVor

Full Access Members
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Posts
259
Reaction score
43
Location
Maryland
Thats nothing neq with mine. You just have to unplug the phone and plug it back in or close the audio application and reopen it - it does it to me in carplay all the time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

TheDoug

Full Access Members
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Posts
303
Reaction score
145
Location
Mansfield, TX
I had that issue a few times before I updated the ford sync software. On the latest version I have not had it happen yet.

Also one time the problem was my cord. I swapped it to the one that came with my phone and it worked better.
 

Timmaaay4

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2015
Posts
15
Reaction score
6
The front ports stopped working also?
I won't be able to look at the vechile until my wife gets back tomorrow, I am thinking maybe a fuse is blown?

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
 

5280tunage

Full Access Members
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Posts
894
Reaction score
452
Location
colorado
Not sure why the ports would have stopped working, but make sure you first try the full reset twice in a row. See if that helps anything. Also make sure the phone is rebooted, I've had issues where AA keeps running and causes issues. But the latest version of AA and 3.4 seem to work pretty well.
 

TheDoug

Full Access Members
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Posts
303
Reaction score
145
Location
Mansfield, TX
Oops... I must have missed the part about the ports not being powered when I posted previously.

Should just be a fuse.
 

Johnb21

Active Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Posts
35
Reaction score
7
Location
boston, ma
My top port randomly stops working, more times than less. I often hear a loud click ( like the sound of a circuit breaker) around the HVAC area. The click has been going on for a couple years, most often when I have the HVAC heat on (during colder weather). I don't know if the USB port is related to the clicking, as the top USB has only been an issue for the past 6-9 months. Turning the truck on/off has worked to reset the USB in the past, but less so now.
My issues are mainly with the top port, but have seen both ports go out as well. I didn't want to bring it to the dealership to have them send me home because they couldn't replicate the issue. Next oil change, I will have them look at it.
Any thoughts are appreciated!
 

Timmaaay4

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2015
Posts
15
Reaction score
6
Apparently on my wife's drive home the ports and Android auto started working again. I am assuming that shutting off the car reset sync as described. I did however update sync yesterday to the latest version of sync 3.0 . No issues as if yet will keep an eye on it. Tha ks for the help

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
 

LokiWolf

Full Access Members
Joined
Apr 2, 2016
Posts
2,708
Reaction score
1,579
Location
Richmond VA
Apparently on my wife's drive home the ports and Android auto started working again. I am assuming that shutting off the car reset sync as described. I did however update sync yesterday to the latest version of sync 3.0 . No issues as if yet will keep an eye on it. Thanks for the help

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

You should be able to go to 3.4, and it will have WAY less issues, and is a little quicker.

CyanLabs.net, and find the Sync updater app, install it, and follow its instructions.
 
Top