Contemplating..

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sandbuster

Reaction score
Currently own a beloved 2019 Toyota 4Runner TRD-OR. Love the vehicle but comes up short on towing capacity and I recently acquired a 26’ TT that is about 600lbs above the 4Runner’s capacity. Have owned 2 previous Expeditions and had no issues with them other than the 5.4 is a little lame. So I’m looking at a used 1 owner 2017 Limited with the 3.5 and am hoping that I could get a good/bad report from this forum? Yup just signed up so I’m a nubie here but I did spend 25+ years as a Ford tech so I have plenty of knowledge on older units but not on the later models. Thanks in advance.

Timo2824

Full Access Members
Reaction score
First gen 3.5, plenty of power. Plan on a throttle body, water pump (some don't have issues), intake valve cleaning, rear shocks, and spark plugs in the first 60-80k miles. Some people add a catch can, some drill a weep hole in the intercooler. I did a weep hole, haven't done a catch can yet.

6R80 transmission: Bulletproof, I've had 5 of them, currently still have 3, zero issues on any of them.

I have a 2017 limited 4wd with the hd tow package, I pull a 4,000lbs enclosed trailer with it across Kansas regularly. It has electronic steering assist instead of hydraulic, so Ford got creative with it. It has a stability control programmed in, think of a side wind and having to turn the steering wheel into the wind, the software does it for you. It also has a towing stability program, it works but adds a weird feeling feedback into the steering wheel. I got used to it after several hundred miles, but the first time you tow with it, it feels weird. The hd tow package includes the auxiliary trans cooler, while towing it stays at 203°, without the trailer it's at 195°ish. I like that you can monitor it from the dash.