Cut the Bumper or Get a Lift--Advice Needed

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Hi, all. I have a project Expedition going and could use a little advice. I am the original owner of this 2000 Ford Expedition 4x4 XLT/Sport. I want to make it look a little more aggressive. I have tuned up the mechanical, will add rims/tires, and paint last. This is my first time doing a project like this.

Black rims with 33" BFGs are going on next week. I tested the rims/tires and there is a minor rub at the front bumper (video). So I have two questions for you.

Question #1: Cut the bumper ($50 at auto body shop next door) or spend the money on a lift/level of some sort?

Question #2: Do I have enough room on the back/inside of the front? The tire does no touch, and there is about 1/4"-1/2" clearance.

Question #3: Will this modification cause mechanical issues (someone suggested this will cause gearing issues)

I don't use this SUV for sport or going off road. It is 99% on a paved street or freeway.

Thanks in advance!

View attachment 36485 View attachment 36484 View attachment 36483 View attachment 36482

Killer Ride

Full Access Members
Reaction score
How about you raise the front? Just crank up the torsion bar keys? It would take about 10 min and cost nothing

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

OP
OP
B
Reaction score
Thanks, KR.....I will ask about that. Newbie question: How does that NOT make the front end tilt up? Or, is it that a couple inches is not noticeable?

craig sargood

Full Access Members
Reaction score