Decent Code scanner

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Cam Driven

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'd like to get a code scanner ($200 max range) but have been unable to find any reviews that are not by people who have received the test units for free. And, while they may try to be honest they invariably slant many comments towards each manufacturer in the hopes of getting more freebies in the future.

I am looking at the
Ancel FX2000, FX3000, FX4000
Launch CRP 213, CRP 219

I have never used one before but have been working on cars for 40+ years so not new to grease under the fingernails. But I like the idea of Live data, I'd also like to see live spark plug figures too.

Can someone please point me at unbiased information sites?
Am I expecting too much from $200-ish?

We are currently trying to buy a used Expedition and would like to be able to check codes and cycle times etc to check that the PCM has not just been reset.

Thanks

Patrick Schultz

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'd like to get a code scanner ($200 max range) but have been unable to find any reviews that are not by people who have received the test units for free. And, while they may try to be honest they invariably slant many comments towards each manufacturer in the hopes of getting more freebies in the future.

I am looking at the
Ancel FX2000, FX3000, FX4000
Launch CRP 213, CRP 219

I have never used one before but have been working on cars for 40+ years so not new to grease under the fingernails. But I like the idea of Live data, I'd also like to see live spark plug figures too.

Can someone please point me at unbiased information sites?
Am I expecting too much from $200-ish?

We are currently trying to buy a used Expedition and would like to be able to check codes and cycle times etc to check that the PCM has not just been reset.

Thanks