Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

juan214

Full Access Members
Reaction score
OK boys and girls looking for some input. This is my first time using a smoke machine. So bear with me, I am not looking to just change parts. Here we go.

1. Pulled the service port core and connected the smoke machine to it.
2. Ran it until I saw smoke leaking.
3. Found smoke coming from two spots in the left frame rail (a false source of leaks).
4. Pulled vapor canister down and plugged the vent tube. I assume it is supposed to be open?
5. Ran the test again smoke leaking from intake snorkel. Removed intake at Throttle Body and plugged the throttle body.

Leaks / Smoke found:
* Vacuum line: Dry rot (repaired with EGR Pressure Feedback Hose)
* Throttle body leaking from shaft seals/openings.
* Small leak at right front of Intake Manifold.
* EGR Valve

Throttle Body:
I assume there are not replacement seals for a simple repair.

Intake Manifold:
I assume the gaskets need replace, unless there's a crack or the bolts lost torque.

EGR Valve:
I assume it needs to be replace, I am guessing it is stuck and should not be leaking at all.

Any input is appreciated in advance.

Thanks.

Last edited:

Hamfisted

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Are you experiencing drivability issues or getting any DTC codes ? If the throttle body shaft is just a tiny bit of smoke I wouldn't worry about it, unless you're getting a high idle for no other reason. The intake manifold of course should not be leaking any smoke. The hoses you already know to replace. The EGR valve may leak a tiny single stream on the low side of the diaphragm housing. Tiny bit of smoke from the idle air control valve vent as well. But NONE from the intake manifold or any vacuum hoses.

Last edited:
OP
OP
J

juan214

Full Access Members
Reaction score