Help adding 7 pin to ‘17 XLT 4x4

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

The6ofus

Reaction score
Hi all! Newbie here that tried searching but couldn’t find an answer to my specific question.

I’m looking for the easiest, least intrusive way to add a 7 pin connection to pull my pop up camper. I’ve already found and rerouted the brake controller wires in the dash. So that tells me that somewhere in the back there must be another plug and play connection, or maybe not? I do have the 4 pin and see one more capped wire next to it. I also located a large, round plug that is connected to something just behind the driver’s side rear wheel. I’ve spoken with and emailed these photos to etrailer and they insist there should be a large round plug at the right rear closer to the bumper. I’m wondering if that is simply a storage location, similar to the brake controller pigtail, for the 7 pin.

I hope someone can clear this up for me soon. Picking the camper up Friday and gotta have that 7 pin. Thanks in advance!

4 pin

DE61D223-0B0A-482B-AA9A-5784A870B4AD.jpeg

Here are 3 sequence shots showing the location of the large round plug.

568226B6-88C6-40D2-AD9E-A4A88745DA61.jpeg

94BE1769-6016-4620-9084-5E8FB279A610.jpeg

73168CD2-C75B-43AF-89C4-6E653DF69BD5.jpeg

OP
OP
The6ofus

The6ofus

Reaction score
I should get a chance to dig into it Tuesday morning to test/trace wires. If I learn anything new I’ll be sure to post the results.

Last edited:

Black

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Pretty sure that those of us without the HD tow package only have the trailer brake wire (that capped one next to the 4 pin) and the plug behind the left dash cubby for the factory controller.
If the aux power wire were tucked some where towards the rear sure would be nice but pretty sure it is not.