Is Mental exhaustion worse than physical?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by jeff kushner, May 15, 2019 at 7:47 AM.

1. jeff kushner

jeff kushner Full Access Members

I've often heard this is true. Like many here who went from a labor intensive job to a more cerebral craft, I've found it also to be true to a point.

I've spent the past couple of months, when not dropping off or picking up my truck from the truck hospital, in pretty complicated negotiations for a several notable projects. One for a "software" manufacturers who has material in every computer world-wide, two others I can't discuss and the 3rd being HQ2 for Amazon in Va(yes, we got that, BAM!).

I do numbers for a living. My 8th grade Algebra teacher would have gotten a kick out of this fact but it just worked out this way. Anyway, the folks I deal with at these negotiations typically are also "numbers guys" who are technically proficient but they usually bring a couple of "accounting types" who don't know crap about anything other than the numbers. After many straight hours, the accounting guys crumble first. The signs are universal....they didn't eat prior to the mtg so they get hungry, then tired, then impatient. This is what I wait for sometimes if I need to...because when people become impatient, they WILL agree to things they otherwise would not.

The point is....after this kind of a day, even if successful.. yeah I normally sleep well and I'm completely drained.....but I also have noticed that when I'm physically exhausted from actual work, my mind unwinds so much easier, I'm more peaceful and relaxed mentally.

So is mental exhaustion worse? I think so but not because it's "harder" but because it's harder to relax afterwards making it possibly worse for you overall.

I'm curious to other peoples take on this?

jeff

2. MrSticker

MrSticker Full Access Members