Loose Bed?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MikeMusic

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

My Expedition XLT is a 2002 with 258K miles on it. She runs beautifully for a vehicle of her age and mileage (I try my absolute best to keep her in great condition). Mechanically, she's sound and I'd drive her anywhere with complete confidence in her but I am now having an issue that is going to send me to the loony bin.

Every time I go over a bump the rear of the truck sounds like it's going to fall off in the middle of the road. It's hard to explain but it doesn't sound like a particular loose part; it sounds like the entire thing is not fastened. I had the exhaust system replaced which was definitely overkill. Sound still there. Replaced swingbar (please excuse my ignorance of part names. I'm no mechanic). Sound still there. The tailgate is tight -- no sound coming from there. Had my mechanic poke around underneath with his rubber mallet and he said everything's tight back there. If I'm allowed to post here, I'll take a recording with my phone so that you can hear what I'm referring to.

The only time the truck doesn't make that loud noise back there is when it's completely packed with very heavy pieces of equipment (I own an entertainment business so we often travel with huge speakers, cases of cables, etc).

Have any of you ever heard of the bed being detached from the body?

craig sargood

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Try putting a floor jack under it and try lifting it with some wood, if it lifts at all, you’ll know the problem. Maybe try replacing body mounts, I think there’s like 8 or 10, not too hard.

OP
OP
MikeMusic

MikeMusic

Reaction score