New head unit install

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
After researching through this forums and going through a number of different threads, I’m really just trying to get down to the basic answer.

I want to get rid of the four-inch sync system and upgrade it to a Apple CarPlay double din touchscreen unit. I have plenty of experience in custom wiring so if I need to run some lines To set up a new backup camera that works with the unit that’s not an issue.

What I need to find out is if this is possible to just do an old-school install? I don’t care about the steering wheel controls or the rear controls.

Aspen03

Full Access Members
Reaction score
What generation are we talking about?

Assuming under a 2015 you can do pretty much whatever you want. On the 07+ models the harness will just take care of the steering wheel controls and the like as part of the package. RSE is sometimes retained, just depends on exactly what is there and what wiring harness is used. If you're going carplay and all that you're going to want a decent harness as it just makes the job that much easier and clean, less room for error as well. The PAC and Maestro Harnesses will give nav outputs like speed sense, parking brake etc right there instead of running dedicated wires to every point.

"Old School" is technically possible with anything if you want to run new power, accessory, etc but its more effort than its worth in most cases. A 1st or 2nd gen would be closest to old school as you'll get before things got pushed onto CAN.

Existing backup cam can traditionally be integrated into most radios, jusy need to splice in a male RCA plug or purchase an adapter if available for your year and connect it to the right input on your new radio.

Aspen03

Full Access Members
Reaction score