Operating 2014 Limited After Low Transmission Fluid?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

justinp16ex

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I'm vetting repair nearby facilities and remanufactured transmission choices. Currently leaning towards a Jasper.
I have no personal experience with Jasper, but I have heard of quality issues on their rebuilt engines. Not sure if it translates to the transmissions. Good luck, keep us posted.

Denninc

Reaction score
Correct me if I am wrong, please, as I don't want to pay for expensive servicing if it is unnecessary: this problem seems like it would be accompanied by a transmission fluid leak. I haven't seen a leak of any kind. I had a coolant leak recently but have successfully repaired it. I will crawl under and check this to be sure.
Yes you would think so...

However... Here's how it went for me.

I live in Brooklyn and my kids drove the mountaineer. Daughter was coming over the Varanzanno Bridge and the trans stopped engaging. She coasted to the bottom and rolled off the bridge at the 1st exit. (Lucky for me she was only a couple miles away)

When I got to her the car had cooled down and I started it up, like you, the trans engaged. I drove it to my local mechanic. He put it up on the lift said it was more than a quart low but did not see any leaks coming from the pan and as far as he was concern it was operating fine. Told me to take it home and keep it local to see if it happens again.

I drove it for more than a month (didn't keep it local after the 1st week) when I noticed it was slow to engage on startup. Started my internet search and came across that video above.... and I bought the little plastic part.