Question about buying used, 2014 vs 2015 and up Expedition

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rsmexplorer

Reaction score
Newbie here, I don't own an Expedition yet, but i'm looking into buying one.
Family hauler, 4x4 capabilities, want to have this truck with expedition/overlanding duties in mind.
and the aftermarket doesn't seem to offer much that i can see, so i guess some fabrication will be requiered if i was to own one.

I have a lot of questions about the truck, starting with the years, with reliability in mind, better to have a 2014 with the 5.4L over the 2015 and up with the 3.5L turbo engine ? how is the auto trans in both models ?
Looking into a used rig with say no more than 35k miles or so, and probably have it at least for 150k miles or so, i think the 5.4's are reliable, but i don't know crap about the new 3.5l turbo engines.

Looking for expedition mods, things like for example a winch, and i found any of the hidden winch mount plates for the 2014 F150 will fit for instance any Ford Expedition from 2007 up to 2014 it seems, 2015 have the intercooler in the spot where the winch will mount, so i'll be toasted with one in a 2015 or up ? or maybe there are other options for the 2015's and up models to mount a winch ? i found an steel front bumper from black ops, $1600 and it looks like it weights 2000lbs, with no suspension options, i don't want a truck that will drive like crap because so much weight was added to the nose, with nothing but a 3" spacer to correct for that.