Replacing shock absorber for a more comfortable ride in 2018 Expedition XLT

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hms18

Reaction score
Hello

I have a 2018 Expedition XLT, and I'm not too fond of the ride quality. I can feel every bit of turbulence or bumps on the road. When going over a speed bump, the suspensions are just too harsh. Since I bought the car, I have replaced the shock absorbers twice (in the folder dealer). The ride quality improved significantly the last time I replaced them, but not quite what I wanted. I have tried lowering tire pressure with no significant change in the ride quality.
I have no background information on third-party shock absorbers and how they would improve the ride, but I heard that there are models that can improve the ride quality for more comfort. I'm not a big fan of sporty rides; I want to minimize shocks from roads with poor asphalt. Any suggestions on what to do about the shock absorbers? Is there something else I should consider?
I highly appreciate your help.
Thanks.

JasonH

Full Access Members
Reaction score
You didn't say what size wheel you're running. If you're running something larger than 18", try downsizing to a smaller wheel.

OP
OP
H

hms18

Reaction score
I'll check out Monroe (any specific model?), but my tires are 18".

Expd830

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Try a set of Bilstein shocks. They are the best on the market. I had them on another truck and getting ready to put them on my Expedition.

OP
OP
H

hms18

Reaction score
Try a set of Bilstein shocks. They are the best on the market. I had them on another truck and getting ready to put them on my Expedition.
Do you have a specific model in mind for Expedition?

Expd830

Full Access Members
Reaction score