Where to start with rotten rockers

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bolt snapper

Full Access Members
Reaction score
To begin, let me say that I have zero body work experience.

I recently purchased an '04 Eddie Bauer 'midwest special' with rocker panels that are half gone. At this point, the threshold portion is fairly intact, but as it makes the bend to go past vertical downward back under the car, the rust has overtaken the length of both rockers, such that you could literally poke holes all along with your finger, or at least without much more effort than that.

I have looked at the slip on covers, and will probably tackle that in the coming months. In the mean time, in order to slow or stop the progression of rust, I'm wondering if it would be of any advantage to take a grinder and cut out the super rusty side of these rockers and try to apply some primer? Would doing so slow the rust any, or would it hasten the deterioration by removing what little bit of support the rusty portions still give?

I'm kind of looking for a starting point. I hate walking out to the car every day and seeing the little pieces of rust hanging out below the doors and staining the running boards.

Black

Full Access Members
Reaction score
You will want to cut out all of the rust. It will only keep expanding. It is a lot of prep work to really do it proper.
YouTube rocker repair to get an idea. There are tons of videos for early to mid 2000s Silverados.

I have a 2000 Silverado Z71 with 95k miles that the rockers are the only issue. It is getting treated to new rockers as we speak. I wanted it done proper and left it up to the pros and did full rockers and not slip ons.
Truck has tons of life left so while a bit expensive it will be well worth it.

John Christopher

Full Access Members
Reaction score