1999 Exp XLT 5.4L 2WD Oil Pump Failing?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mjbtn

Reaction score
Hello to All,

I am an IT consulting professional by trade with some modest automotive repair and tooling experience.

I have a 99 Exp XLT 5.4L 2WD unit that has (I think I have narrowed it down) a failing/failed/clogged oil pump (after much observation and forum research).

The truck has 170,000+ miles and started to have the oil pressure guage drop off and warning light coming on and off abruptly when the oil level got below a certain point. I would add a quart of oil or so (back to "full") and the behavior would go away. The engine burns oil but there is no visible tell-tale smoke in the exhaust and no visible leaks under the vehicle where it is parked at night. I had always attributed this to just the "normal" behavior for this engine as it has aged.

Then, recently, the oil guage fell off abruptly and the oil light came on and a VERY perceived knocking in the lifters (I assume) would simultaneously become evident. The engine has long had a slight knock, but, never had a loss of power and I assumed 87 octane and just aging. But this new behavior was abrupt. I added oil and verified the level and that was good. Now, when I start the engine, it starts up normal and idles fine, but, shortly thereafter (with the oil level good), the oil light comes on, the guage falls and the knocking commences. I have not been driving it except gradually up and down the driveway to observe the behavior.