2013 Expedition EL Misfires

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sturym

Reaction score
Hello all - I'm new here, and looking to see if I can get other input from folks who know a lot more about vehicles than I do. I'm an IT Systems Engineer by trade, and only started working on vehicles with our 2005 Toyota Sequoia and now our 2013 Expedition EL. First things first, a background...

We needed a 8 seater to replace the Sequoia (we have 6 kids, it's at 255k miles) and so we found a used 2013 Expedition with 137k miles on it. We bought it from a dealer, and denied the warranty (they wanted nearly $75/month more on a 5 year loan for a 2 year/24k mile warranty. I figured we knew a good mechanic if anything goes wrong. Literally just after we bought it and it went past the 7 day return/exchange policy, we started getting random misfires (blinking CEL) when accelerating fast, like on highway ramps. Additionally, the left side IWE Actuator was bad... but I've since replaced that and it's working great.

We took it to a mechanic, and he said it was spark plugs and coil packs. We replaced those (all with Motorcraft parts), but it actually got way worse. We had a family trip down to Iowa, and it wasn't until we got 50/100 miles on the road when the misfires started happening. It was typically when accelerating up a hill and when it needed to be given a bit more gas. I used a code reader to see Cylinder 4 (typically) and Cylinder 8 (less frequently) were getting misfires. We were already on the road, and found that if we lightly feather the gas, then it didn't misfire nearly at all. We made it to Iowa, and after being down there for a few days and driving back (around 800 miles on the engine) it actually seemed to be doing really well. Then the Wednesday after it all went to hell again.