2016 3.5l Ecoboost Expedition EL Reliability?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Brandonian

Reaction score
Hey Ya'll -

I've been a spammer of noob inquiries on this thing so far lol :( - But I've gotten by for a bit now with it. Overall, I like the oomph and the pizazz of this Expedition and appreciate everyone's assistance to date!

I wanted to see - from other's perspectives of their opinions on long term reliability of these?

I have a 2016 Expedition EL XLT with the 3.5 Ecoboost - I bought it about a year ago with a bit over 145k miles or thereabouts. Almost year later (I work from home lol) I have 151k miles and I've fixed a couple of things. When I bought this I made sure it had a good clean carfax of maintenance by the way. I made sure to look for years beyond introduction so that certain kinks were worked out for us.

What's been replaced - both catalytic converters, the "internal" water pump (according to dealer), I replaced the external water pump and thermostat, and the driver side upstream O2 Sensor. It's been a nice ride - but now I'm filled with paranoia after going through forums and others. Most of the paranoia is associated with the time it takes to self work on these over a standard engine for even small things - I don't like a lot of down-time for our vehicle as we have a large family and tons we want to do.

Mileage doesn't scare me with proper maintenance - especially with timing chain related vehicles as generally timing chains are a life-long thing if proper maintenance is kept up. Most things actually are lol, which is good. Proper maintenance leads to longevity.