97 Eddie Bauer AWD

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

FX4 Matt

Reaction score
I picked up a 97 expedition 5.4 135k on it runs nice the only problem I have is while I have it in the AWD mode starting from a dead stop when I start to accelerate the whole truck shakes like hell. It only will do it in the AWD Setting all other 4x4 settings work fine.
I'm new to the expedition world I sold my 05 F150 lariat supercharged. Some of you may have seen my name on the f150 forums .

Thanks for any info in advance.

ArtGamer60

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Hopefully ? when you are switching it into 4x4 mode ? you are doing it off road ( dirt ) otherwise ? on asphalt ? it causes torque wind up ( need limited slip ) on the asphalt , etc ... surface ) or get ready for catastrophic drive line failure . thought that I would mention this to start with .

Jeff532003

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I'm assuming you have it in the a4wd mode which is automatic four wheel drive not all wheel drive. It engages the 4x4 system when it senses that the truck has lost traction and unlike the previous advice you got it can be used on asphalt as it only engages when it senses slip. The whole point of this mode is to be used on asphalt in less than ideal conditions. That said I'm not an expert on how it works as I am new to the Ford world. I'm guessing it uses the ABS sensor to detect when I wheel looses traction and engages the 4wd. If not then there is a sensor in the drivetrain that must monitor this. I'd guess that your problem lies with that sensor as it sounds like your 4wd is fully engaged when in the a4wd mode. Unless of course your putting it in 4H. Then it's your bad as the poster above stated as full time 4wd is only for off road deep snow conditions.

1997SCEBFEX

Full Access Members
Reaction score