Key Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

xfiles67

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Do the keys for the ignition have a chip? Looking to get an extra key but unsure if I can just get one made...

Thanks

Bedrck47

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Check your owners manual for the procedure to program a new key You may need one or two original keys. You will need a blank cut key that has the chip.

Gruz7

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Do the keys for the ignition have a chip? Looking to get an extra key but unsure if I can just get one made...

Thanks

They do have a chip, therefore require programming either by a reputable programmer machine or with OBP... I am a part time locksmith and do car keys with chips all the time.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lostneye

Full Access Members
Reaction score
If youhave 2 keys now you can program more without special equipement. Only one key now you have to see a locksmith/dealer.

I have bought factory Lincoln keys for my Navi and another Lincoln on ebay for cheaper than generic chipped keys locally. You email them a quality pic and they will cut them as well.

OP
OP
X

xfiles67

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I have 1 physical key and 1 key fob.

I've seen the video on programming a new fob, that's pretty simple. Just going for another actual key for now.

Bedrck47

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Again check in your owners manual If you don't have one you can download a copy at
owner.ford.com

igozumn

Full Access Members
Reaction score
If youhave 2 keys now you can program more without special equipement. Only one key now you have to see a locksmith/dealer.