Help! Fogs NOT working...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

96max2fast

Reaction score
Problem Solved... The previous owner ran the wire from the stock fog switch separately... he also inserted another in-line fuse and it was BLOWN... That was the problem... Switched it and it works perfectly... After all the searching... I'm an electrical pro now! :)

Thanks to all.........

I have a 97 Expedition XLT 4.6L and I recently installed HID's in the fog lights. 1 was flickering for some reason (perhaps a defect with the ballasts) but then it worked well for a few days. Now, neither of the Fog Lights work. I turn on the switch but they don't light up. The FOG fuse under the steering wheel appears to be good. I tried to put my original bulbs back in and they don't light up either!

What could it be?
Is there a specific relay that controls the fog lights?

Please help!

Waldemar

7213084050_large.jpg
7213084052_large.jpg

Attachments

• IMAG1020.jpg
    IMAG1020.jpg
    100.9 KB · Views: 130
Last edited:

Thermo

technical advisor
Reaction score
96max, I would venture to guess that you have blown the fuse for the fog lights. Keep in mind that the factory fog light fuses is only a 15 amp fuse and when you turn on the fog lights, each ballast for the HID bulbs pulls in the neighborhood of 20 amps (40 amps total). Normally the fuse will handle this for a little bit, but over time, the fuse will weaken and finally fail. If that is not blown, then I would be looking at the fog lamp relay. Again, this relay is only rated for 20 amps and you are almost doubling that when you turn on the fog lamps. So, it is possible the relay gave up the ghost.

OP
OP

96max2fast

Reaction score