no sticky for spark plugs?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmercer3

Full Access Members
Reaction score
So I'm new to the party here but I have been reading for 3 days since I made my purchase.

All I keep reading is all these problems with breaking spark plugs during removal. I have been trying to prep to do this myself as I am not willing to pay a mechanic $100 an hour to extract broken spark plugs.

So today I noticed someone mentioned in the 08's there was some sort of fix with the spark plugs, something about if you have the brown caps you have the better ones or something.

So now I am confused, and I am suprised there is not a sticky because I cant seem to find a conclusive answer.

Bottom line question, is this still a problem for a 2010 5.4? Or can I just go to town and not expect any problems changing these things? (Im at 100k and they are stock). I hear a little rattling when the hood is up, but no backfiring or anything, drive is smooth as silk.

OP
OP
dmercer3

dmercer3

Full Access Members
Reaction score

thank you as I did find some great info in there a few days ago, however there is still a lot of confusion it seems as everyone seems to have different ideas about how to take care of it.

Today I spoke to a ford mechanic who seemed like he was very familiar with the fix.

He stressed to go to carcraftauto for some step by steps. But he did say:

1. Do not warm up engine. (Let sit at least 24 hours).
2. Use a torque wrench to ensure NOT overtorquing during removal.
3. Use an lubricant during removal if at all possible, and if torque wrench indicates overtorquing re-lube plug and move on to another (come back later).
4. Use platinum spark plug for replacement (100k mile high quality version).
5. Ensure tap/removal tool is on hand.