Worn out struts?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Owner of Fords

Reaction score
My wife took her '04 Expedition in for an oil change and the shop told her she needs new struts. ($788) They said it looked like the struts were leaking and that the leakage could damage the brakes.

I've been driving for 30 years and never had a vehicle (upwards of 150K mi.) need new struts.

This vehicle has 80K mi. on it, all on-road miles. The handling seems fine to me (no bouncing), although I don't drive it every day.

Is replacing struts at 80K mi. typical wear and tear on an Expedition?

Bremsen

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Really? I hope you're not one of those people I see go over expansion joints and the car doesn't settle for 1/4 mile.

Every vehicle I've owned has needed new shocks/struts somewhere between 60-120k. I pretty much plan on it at 100k. In my experience, the bouncyness is a later indicator once they are completely shot and not providing any dampening. Leaking and a jittery ride is more the indicator when they start to go. I bet once you replace them you will realize how the truck should ride/handle.

If you want to verify, take it to another shop or check them out yourself. Not hard to see if a strut/shock has blown a seal. That being said, you can pick up a full set (f/r) of Bilsteins for <$400 and any indy shop shouldn't charge more than a couple hours of labor to install. If $788 was 4 corners installed w/ alignment then that's not a bad deal, if not then I'd find a new shop.

seeker

Full Access Members
Reaction score
My 2 cents