Jumping Ship...Tahoe to Expedition EL

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jamo

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have a 2004 Tahoe LT, really like the truck, but almost 200K and the rust is gaining (I'm upstate NY). I am a semi retired building contractor and downsizing from my former shuttle bus ('98 E-Superduty w/7.3 Turbo Diesel), to the current Tahoe, now on to something bigger. I had been looking at Suburbans but why? I've been a Ford guy all my life and Fords have been good to me. The local dealer (Fenton Ford) is great too, but then again, Andy Fenton is a very good friend.

So...I'm liking the 3rd generation EL. Are there years to avoid, or what years are best to be beyond? I can't afford new, or even close, but with about 20K I'd like to get something with less than 100K and hopefully at the better upgrades over the years. Lots of opinions on the intro section of "what to look for", but I couldn't find stuff like better tranny gear years, and/or whatever.

I realize there might be lots of opinions here too, but I'm shopping.

Thanks for the help...

ManUpOrShutUp

Full Access Members
Reaction score
2009+ imho. You get the newer/better trans (6R80 vs 6R75) and Ford had worked out most of the kinks inherent to any redesign.

JExpedition07

That One Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
+1 on 2009+. While my 2007 has been fine and no big issues with the 6R75 the 6R80 is definitely an improved trans.

Adieu

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Since you're only driving <15k mi / year, much higher mileage is ok

Decide if you want the V6 turbo "Ecoboost" 2015-2017, or the V8 5.4L Triton - 2007-2014

Whether you want air ride or coilovers