Question on plugs/cop costs

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

7FordExpedition

Reaction score
I have be having some problems with the car cutting out under load. After some good advice and observations from this site ... I be believing that it is a problem with either plugs or cop. Since I cannot confirm with certainty this has ever been done before I got it (I am 2nd owner) ... I am going to take the car over to a local Ford dealer in Southern Pines to get the work done. I have had some experience with this dealer, not exactly really good experience but ... there really isn't anyone else close to us.

I wish I could do it myself but it is just not a good thing ... me, my hands and wrists and wrenches. Such is life when you get old and stove up! Besides, I have never replaced the plugs on a 5.4 and I understand it can be trying.

They tell me that for plugs and cop R&R it will run a bit below $700 otd. Using motorcraft plugs and cops.

Question: Does that seem reasonable to all you guys out there?

DesertFordRat

Reaction score
The motorcraft plugs are like 9 bucks a piece or so. The coils are pricey depending on where you get them. Orielly wanted to charge me something like 80 a piece but I found them on Wal-Mart's site for like 45 so they price matched. So based on those crazy prices it sounds about right I suppose. They may be factoring that if a plug breaks inside they will have to remove those. Make sure that price includes that possibility. I'm assuming you have an 07 which I believe has that problem (if they are original plugs).

ManUpOrShutUp

Full Access Members
Reaction score