Tranny noise while accelerating ? + knocking sound

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

G

Hi,

I just got my first Ford ever. I sold my 2000 Xterra, and got what I wanted for a while: 2003 Eddie Bauer AdvancedTrac. I live in MD, but I got it from a small-time dealer in NJ (through ebay…). I know enough about my cars (mostly imports though…) to avoid trips to a mechanic. I can replace clutch, drive axle, timing-belts, work with ignition, etc… Although I am not an expert, I take my time (mostly for thinking and ruling out various paths) to correctly diagnose and fix problems with my cars. I hope that by joining this forum I will be able to contribute some helpful info, but at the moment I am new to Fords and need your assistance in diagnosing a couple of problems.

My truck runs great! Tranny shifts perfect. RPMS newer go much beyond 2000 (only during downshifting while accelerating very hard) City/highway operation is perfect. Tranny shifts when it should – no irregularities. No vibrations or shaking – drive is really smooth and steady. U-turns are tight and noiseless, tires and alignment are good, no pulling to left or right. Gas mileage is OK: mostly suburban driving: a few miles on the interstate, some rural roads at 30-40 mph, little hills, few stop signs, several stop-n-goes. I’ve only had it for 2 weeks. It looks like avg suburban driving (foot easy on the gas!) gives me @14 mpg - calculated by dividing miles by gallons refueled (computer says 16), smooth highway drive from NJ shore to central MD (over 200 miles) used ½ tank of gas. On the highway I was driving at avg speed of 75mph, and the computer was averaging 18mpg (I don’t know what it really was because I never did my own calculations, but it had to be at least 16, I think…) Now not so good part to my story…