2019 Platinium MAX - towing question, total newbie, not a "CarGuy" ;-)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TotalNewbie

Reaction score
So, I just got 2019 MAX Platinium.
It had a towing hitch (with the electrical plu-in on the side of it).
Also, when going to the Menu on the trip computer screen, there is an option for Towing and it's "ON".
Looked at the Manual, and it looks like Towing Package also shows the knob for trailer on the right side of the steering wheel and underneath Manual shows buttons for towing sway control.
I DON'T HAVE THESE TWO.
With that said:
1) Can I tow an RV trailer, if so, is it safe, is it good for the vehicle? How much (lbs) can I tow?
2) What receiver hitch should I get, I see Walmart has them, but they are all different sizes :-O
3) Do I need to get the Towing Package installed? If so, what to install? At Ford? Or car mechanic can do it? How much it'd cost me? (More Less)

Thank you all,

Mike

Alwaysthinkin

Full Access Members
Reaction score
So, I just got 2019 MAX Platinium.
It had a towing hitch (with the electrical plu-in on the side of it).
Also, when going to the Menu on the trip computer screen, there is an option for Towing and it's "ON".
Looked at the Manual, and it looks like Towing Package also shows the knob for trailer on the right side of the steering wheel and underneath Manual shows buttons for towing sway control.
I DON'T HAVE THESE TWO.
With that said:
1) Can I tow an RV trailer, if so, is it safe, is it good for the vehicle? How much (lbs) can I tow?
2) What receiver hitch should I get, I see Walmart has them, but they are all different sizes :-O
3) Do I need to get the Towing Package installed? If so, what to install? At Ford? Or car mechanic can do it? How much it'd cost me? (More Less)

Thank you all,

Mike
Hi Mike, welcome to the forum! This link might be of help....