22” to 20” wheels - better for towing?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ACJ990

Reaction score
We just bought a slightly used 20 Limited Max, which came with the oem 22” wheels. I’ve read a lot about others moving to 20” or 18” wheels. I’m no expert at all, hence this question…

I’m not a huge fan of the 22s and have found several 20” take-offs from F-150’s and have thought about buying a set of the black ones. If you’re towing a travel trailer (which we plan on doing, 6500k lbs), is going down to a set of 20s detrimental in any way?

If this has been posted elsewhere, drop a link. Appreciate it.

Deadman

Full Access Members
Reaction score
More sidewall will allow for more sway, but probably not a huge deal.

Zig10

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I wouldn't think the drop from 22" to 20" would be that profound for towing. Definitely can help the ride, though.

Bigger change would be making sure you've got the appropriate tires on to help out. I upgraded my 20" Limited tires to XL rated tires and the rear end is firmly planted when towing now (also did the sway ar update). Tire change out was huge to stability.

Polo08816

Full Access Members
Reaction score
More sidewall will allow for more sway, but probably not a huge deal.

More sidewall would "allow" more sway, but that sidewall flex is spread over a longer distance (taller sidewall). If you get the same amount of sidewall flex over a shorter distance, it translates to heat which is what will eventually cause the tire to fail. That's part of the reason why tires with high load capacities tend to have tall sidewalls. They also tend to have stiffer sidewalls from more plys.

If less sidewall was preferable for towing, then all the tires with high capacities have it all wrong. The guys rolling on 26s and 28s must be the REAL tire engineers.

Left Coast Geek