My first Expedition, have a few questions and comments!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cavakilla

Reaction score
All input and feedback are welcomed!

First, i have been a mechanic for 20 years so i have a pretty good understanding of things, but you guys have experience with this particular vehicle and i appreciate the help.

Well to start its a 98. I have replaced the water tube under the intake, the heater core, one coil pack, all 8 plugs, valve cover gaskets, upper control arms, lower ball joints tie rod ends and had an alignment.

Then i moved inside... the radio was removed or stolen when i bought it. there was a lot of aftermarket wiring ran all over the place, miles of it. so after removal and the fiasco of finding an amp bypass harness i have the radio installed. the thing is it shuts on and off randomly. i have checked my wiring and everything is good. (solder and shrink wrap).

I have read that the power is controlled by the gauge cluster and it may need to be repaired or replaced? is this true on this model?

Then tonight i try to program two key fobs and the truck won't respond to ignition cycling.

Any help would be appreciated!

walnuts4x4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
don't know much about the radio... but if the fobs wont respond to the ignition cycling... do the locks move up and down? if not it is probably the brain to the PATS unit.... when I bought my expy mine wasn't working... I changed out the PATS brain under the dash with one out of a ford taurus that my parents were trading in during the "cash for clunkers" and it solved my problem...

walnuts4x4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score