5.4 engine advice

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rjcnaples

Reaction score
Hi I’m a newbie to this so please bare with me. I have a 1999 Expedition due to a earlier water pump issue. Which has been corrected it ran hot. Now I believe it has developed a blown head gasket. I purchase a test kit which checks for exhaust gas in the cooling system and that test positive. This is my question. I’m a good or average mechanic. And after reading about this. I’m not sure the best way to continue forward. How hard is it ( special tools, etc needed) to just replace the head gaskets and get heads checked for flatness and reinstall. OR would it be better to find a long block with heads. And just bolt on the accessories? Time isn’t the issue, money is.
Also went apart what other items ( timing, oil, coils, etc ) should I consider to replace also. Any direction would be great. Thx.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Trainmaster

Old School Member
Reaction score
I had the same problem with my 2000 with 235,000 miles. I added the sealer to the motor and ran it for another 15,000 miles and junked it when the rear suspension rotted out.

The repair isn't a huge problem, but if you want to do it right, you'll spend a lot of money changing other stuff "while you're at it". If you pay for labor, you're probably better off putting in a rebuilt engine. If you do it yourself, you'll want to spend about $2000 on other new stuff while it's apart.

Sure you can just pull it apart and replace the gasket on the cheap. But it's a lot of work. Exhaust manifold will be shot, hoses, and all that stuff. Then you'll worry that you didn't do more while the engine was apart.

Very tough choices for a 20 year old truck that's no longer worth spit.

JExpedition07

That One Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score