Faulty Alternator

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

G

Hi there. I'm a new member & I have a '99 Eddie Bauer 4X4 w/c I just purchase from a local Ford dealer a little over a month ago. Last weekend I had a problem starting the truck & when I jump start it, it will just die after a couple of minutes. I bought a new battery & was going to drive it to the dealer & get the alternator replaced but since the distance where I was at that time to the dealership was about an hour drive, the new battery's power got drained again. Although I was able to get it towed to the local dealership & got it replaced & since this is my first time owning one, is the alternator on an Expedition really a problem of owners?

Thanks.

rwinch

Full Access Members
Reaction score
gmh8er:

Not much on the forums about the alternator that I have seen. I have a '98 EB (~80,000 mi), and mine went out about a month ago (good timing too, becuase it happened about 1 hour into a 9 hour vacation road trip!!!). It was just the bearing, which caused an unbelievable racket until I could get it replaced.

I guess what I am saying is don't worry about that item, as there are plenty of other items that you will find discussed that cause folks some problems...but all in all the Exby is a great truck!!

OP
OP
G

rwinch,