Horn problem

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

creef14

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Suddenly this morning my horn sounds awfully squeaky, like it belongs in a much much smaller vehicles.

A replacement horn from Ford is <$20 and a pretty easy swap, but in 20+ years I’ve never heard of a horn just randomly dying. So it pretty confusing.

Anyone know if this is a thing or possibly a symptom of something else?

99WhiteC5Coupe

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Suddenly this morning my horn sounds awfully squeaky, like it belongs in a much much smaller vehicles.

A replacement horn from Ford is <$20 and a pretty easy swap, but in 20+ years I’ve never heard of a horn just randomly dying. So it pretty confusing.

Anyone know if this is a thing or possibly a symptom of something else?

I’ve been driving and owning vehicles for 50 years now. Over the years, I have replaced several horns (but not on a Ford).

762mm

Full Access Members
Reaction score
The problem might not be the horn, but the connector, wiring or switch in steering wheel not making full contact.

I had the horn freak out on my previous Ford truck after some water got behind the air bag housing (was washing truck and didn't notice that the window cracked open a tiny bit). It started honking all by itself two hours after the car wash and then died completely, lol.

OP
OP
C

creef14

Full Access Members
Reaction score
The problem might not be the horn, but the connector, wiring or switch in steering wheel not making full contact.

I had the horn freak out on my previous Ford truck after some water got behind the air bag housing (was washing truck and didn't notice that the window cracked open a tiny bit). It started honking all by itself two hours after the car wash and then died completely, lol.