pretty please, answer me this riddle!! (=

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NewbieVet

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Hey yall,

So I'm selling my beloved convertible in order to buy a used Expedition. I coach little league football, and half the kids on my team need rides to away games, so I'm being a "good guy" and making the transition!

I've been shopping around for a 2003 or above expedition (I want the newer body style which came out in 03) but have been burned soo many times in the last couple weeks I can barely count. I use a mobile mechanic to come out and inspect a vehicle once I've seen it and decided i like it, and each time there's something really wrong with it.

I have this thing in my head which is telling me I shouldn't buy an expedition with over 90k miles. Problem is, I only have 10k to spend, so this coupled with my desire for an 03 or above is making things really tough on me.

I guess my question is, should I be fixated in the millage? If it's in good shape, should I go for something with 100k, or 120k, or even something with 150k?? I've never owned a high millage vehicle before so I'm terrified I'm going to buy it and then have to dump thousands into it on the coming years to keep it reliable, and being that i'm in school full time this really isnt an option.

Help out an old (well young) well meaning vet and give me your thoughts!! Thanks yall!!

Jordan

cdherman

Reaction score
There are several threads, but sometimes searches are wierd...

What to avoid:

2003 model year. Period. I have found several sites that document problems and the 2003 is the worst of the 2003-2006 by far...

LLS. (airbags) Expensive to maintain and when it dies, you must have it fixed. Potentially, if you are towing and the LSS dies, you will not be able to tow whatever you are towing home.

What to look for: