the new guy has a question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

beachbums86

Reaction score
Hey so i'm here to learn as much as I can as a novice mechanic I do okay but I'm stumped on my current project. I've looked around the site a little so far and this looks like the best place to post this question. I've got a 2001 xlt expedition 5.4 a few days ago it started to miss and gave me a p0303 code. so we know we're working with cylinder 3. All the you tube videos I watched and a few other forums said this is typically the coil going bad. So I bought a coil and a plug and went at it. I tested the coil that came out and it was within spec according to my Haynes on primary and secondary resistance. just to be safe I switched it with the #6 coil. Then replaced the plug with a motorcraft platinum plug. I cleared the codes and took it for a test drive and its still doing exactly the same thing and showing the exact same code. A few days before it started to miss I had tried to replace the fuel filter for the third time unsuccessfully. I'm wondering if that had something to do with it? maybe what ever I did messed up the #3 injector? I followed the procedure in the Haynes to relieve the fuel pressure so its not like I did anything out of the ordinary. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Bedrck47

Full Access Members
Reaction score
check the wiring connector at the coil clean it and use dielectric grease on the contact areas

Get yourself the ford workshop manual on DVD and burn the Haynes manual

IMINYOURCHAIR

Full Access Members
Reaction score