Weight Distribution Hitch needed?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

NyackRob79

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I’ve recently picked up a 23’ travel trailer. Trailer dry weight is 3700lbs and she’ll probably come in at 4700lbs when loaded. So not a heavy trailer, but I wanted to know whether a weight distribution hitch is something you’d recommend. We plan to take our 4 kids from NY to AZ and back over the course of a month or so.

I know Ford has a built in “sway control”. I just don’t have any experience with it. How well it works and whether getting a WDH would help it more or conflict with its job to keep the trailer happy.

I’ve seen some ugly videos of trailer sways gone wrong and I’d certainly not want to be in those towing vehicles with our kids.

I have some experience towing lighter loads over the years but not something this large and heavy.

duneslider

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I would highly recommend one. It was eye opening for me the first time using one, just like the first time I used trailer brakes.

byathread

Full Access Members
Reaction score
We plan to take our 4 kids from NY to AZ...

I would if I were you. A good weight distribution hitch makes a world of difference for the IRS and squat that comes with it.

You were asking about a brake controller on another thread. That one is mandatory for control/safety with any trailer with brakes that can be controlled by it...

FWIW, I haven't noticed any of the stability/anti sway features activate on my miles towing yet, but, maybe they don't because I'm driving pretty conservatively with the camper (or maybe they are that good, doubt it).

Enjoy and good luck with it...

RustyOval

Full Access Members
Reaction score
Steering will be much more solid with a WDH properly set up. Sometimes one can find a WDH on Craigslist if lucky....

shane_th_ee