07 Expy Towing and Tongue Weight ?'s

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

77 Bronco

Reaction score
Hey, new to the site. I have been looking at dozens of old threads trying to find my answers. Since I am somewhat new to this travel trailer towing game, I thought I would run my ideas by you guys. I have an 07 4x4 expy with the heavy duty tow package. 3.73 rear, tranny cooler, and the 7 pin. I have 2 little kids, so I have been looking at the dutchmen 261bhs. The unloaded weight of this trailer is 6587 lbs, with a tongue weight of 856 lbs. I read somewhere the expy has a tongue weight of 920 lbs. I would definitely use a weight distributing hitch. Loaded up, I would still be somewhere in the neighborhood of 2,000 lbs under the 15,000 gcwr. Am I pushin my luck. I have always rented small trailers and never had to worry about weight. Let me know what you guys think.

GJarrett

Reaction score
With a weight distribution hitch you are well within the towing capabilities of your Expy. You should be fine.

B

bedrck46

agree with GJarrett
but I would be careful especially with 2 little ones on board. Keep your wits about you and know your limitations and you should be fine along with the WD hitch add sway control and elect brake control. Learn how to use them and also how and what to do when a big Tractor Trailer comes flying by you. When I towed a larger Trailer I would keep an eye on the passing big rigs and just about the time that they were even with me I would just hit the gas to gain about 2 or 3 mph That cause's you weight to shift and helps to break the vacuum created by the big rig passing you also try to keep as much distance as possible between the passing rig and your rig

mlpd_blue

Reaction score
Travel Trailer Towing with 2007 Expedition