2009 Expedition EL- Rear Shocks, or Struts?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

2009expdude

Reaction score
I want to replace my rear shocks on the 2009 with 68k miles. I put bilsteins in the front last year. Are they shocks or struts in the rear? Thanks

ExpeditionAndy

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
OP
OP

2009expdude

Reaction score
OK- but now I'm just more confused...should I go with one type over the other? Or stay with whatever type it is I have? I am a noob.

ManUpOrShutUp

Full Access Members
Reaction score
I want to replace my rear shocks on the 2009 with 68k miles. I put bilsteins in the front last year. Are they shocks or struts in the rear? Thanks

They are struts. FoMoCo will tell you they are shocks (because that's what their computer system says), but they are struts.

quicker

Full Access Members
Reaction score
No affiliation with any supplier but here is a page that shows the exploded view of a 2009 EL (I think these parts are same of Limited and EB) rear strut assembly: here

OP
OP

2009expdude

Reaction score
Thanks all. So I looked underneath- if they're struts, do I need to replace the coils, or can I reuse and just get the shocks they're wrapped around? Don't mean to be so dense, just want to get the right parts. Gracias.

IMG_6173.JPG

ExpeditionAndy

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Thanks all. So I looked underneath- if they're struts, do I need to replace the coils, or can I reuse and just get the shocks they're wrapped around? Don't mean to be so dense, just want to get the right parts. Gracias.
I'm curious too because my 05 had working air suspension. The 17 doesn't and in a few years, I'll be doing this research too.

gixer2000

Retrofit or Bust
Reaction score

View attachment 21191